Home : Alumnae : REUNION : Reunion 2011   Recap

Alumnae Relations
Hollins University
P.O. Box 9629
Roanoke, VA 24020-1629
(540) 362-6498

Reunion 2011 Recap: June 3-5, 2011

Connect. Contemplate. Celebrate!

Hollins Alumnae Reunion 2011


In Her Own Words

"As the front quad roared with clapping and cheers, I started to cry uncontrollably. For the first time, I realized that even though Hollins feels like a magical place, we don't live forever. I imagined being that first class in the parade and missing my girlfriends, who are not just girlfriends, but sisters. I thought about how they might feel as 60 years of memories have passed."


- Rebekah Cocke McKelvey '06 in a Roanoke Times op-ed about "Hollins' unexpected magic" at Reunion 2011


Lindsey Eisler
25th Reunion remarks given by Alexandra Trower Lindsey '86

50th Reunion remarks (PDF) given by Tennie Rasch Eisler '61

Hollins Women Making History: Alumnae Panel

Distinguished alumnae from a variety of backgrounds discussed how their Hollins experience enabled them to reach for their dreams. The panel was moderated by Mary Terrell Joseph '66, Hollins Trustee, who is an attorney in the law firm of McGlinchey Stafford in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Alumnae Panel
Panelists (back row, l to r): Erin Dickins Geyelin '71, Mary D. Bennett Ellison '76, Mary Boyle Hataway '61, Mary Terrell Joseph '66; (front row, l to r) Mary Catherine Andrews '86, Ellen Parke '71, Elizabeth Gleim '06.

Distinguished Alumnae Award

Distinguished Alumnae Award winners

(pictured l to r): Nancy Albert Wolf '56, Mary Beth Hatten '71, Mary Catherine Andrews '86,

Jennifer Berman '86

The Distinguished Alumnae Award honors individual alumnae who have brought distinction to themselves and to Hollins through broad and inspiring personal or career achievements; local, national or international volunteer service; or significant contributions to society.

The Rath Award

Hendrix The Rath Award is given annually to an alumna or alumnae whose participation in the life of Hollins has been extraordinary and whose personal investment of time and effort in the institution over the years represents the very best of the Hollins spirit.
Holly Hendrix '75  

Holly has served Hollins as a member of the Alumnae Association Board of Directors since 2004 and as president for the past two years. Through this role she served on the Hollins Board of Trustees providing insight to the committees on finance and development. She has been a wonderful leader of the Alumnae Association. She also has served on the steering committee for the New York Alumnae Association Chapter, as Class Fund Chair and as Reunion Gift Chair for her 30th reunion in 2005. Holly is a stalwart supporter of our internship program, hosting a record number of 11 student interns at UBS Financial Services during this past January Term. This was above and beyond the 5 interns she hosted in 2010. She takes a personal interest in each intern and is an extraordinary mentor to these young women who truly get so much out of the experience.

Athletic Hall of Fame

Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame honors members of the Hollins community who have demonstrated superior athletic accomplishments at Hollins, as well as sportsmanship, character, and leadership at Hollins and/or in their community. The following alumnae were inducted at Reunion 2011 (pictured l to r): Hillary Schreiber Rheinheimer '00, Beatrice Shaw '91, Jeanne Johnson Thompson '71, Becky Eves Ullrich '51

Class Giving Awards

Tinker Mountain Award

The Tinker Mountain Award: Class of 1966 with $243,612

Given to the class that raises the largest total gift for the Hollins Fund.

Catherine Orgill West '51 Award

The Catherine Orgill West '51 Award: Class of 1951 with 88%

Honors the class with the highest participation in giving to the Hollins Fund.

Hollins Rock Award

The Hollins Rock Award: Class of 2009 with 31%

Awarded to the class among the ten most recent class years with the highest Hollins Fund participation.



Read news and view photos from other reunions: