Home : Coed Graduate Programs : Dance: Summer Events

Hollins University
Graduate Center
PO Box 9603
Roanoke, VA 24020-1603
(540) 362-6575
(540) 362-6288 (Fax)
hugrad@hollins.edu

Summer 2014 events

All events are free and open to the public.

M.F.A. Alumni Concerts

Friday, June 13 and Saturday, June 14, 8 p.m., Hollins Theatre
Join us for special performances highlighting new choreographic work by alumni of Hollins' Master of Fine Arts in Dance program and featuring national and international dance artists.

Lecture: “Bodies That Are More than Metaphors: Why Queer Studies Needs Dance”
Clare Croft, University of Michigan

Saturday, June 14, 4:30 p.m., Niederer Auditorium, Wetherill Visual Arts Center
What is queer dance? A question with no answer, but with many possibilities. This talk will think critically, seriously, and playfully with and through dance to consider the productive possibilities of thinking "dance" and "queer" together. How might queer dance offer a way to consider the radical possibilities for thinking with bodies? How might queer dance be a way to ask questions about the relationship among politics, gender, sexuality, and dance? How might queer dance work to acknowledge the lived experiences of queer, lesbian, gay, and trans people living, learning, and creating work within the dance community in the past and present.
Clare Croft is a historian, theorist, and dramaturg, working at the intersection of dance studies and performance studies. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Texas-Austin and currently teaches at the University of Michigan.

Series of Eight Artists’ Talks

8 p.m., Niederer Auditorium, Wetherill Visual Arts Center
Dance artists in the M.F.A. program talk about their life journeys and career trajectories.

Tuesday, June 17: Leah Cox
Wednesday, June 18: Clarice Young
Tuesday, June 24: Christina Johnson
Wednesday, June 25: Marissa Parmenter
Tuesday, July 1: Kurt Douglas
Wednesday, July 2: Lara Tinari
Monday, July 7: Assaf Benchetrit
Tuesday, July 8: Mirah Moriarty

Dance Performances

Friday, June 20, Saturday, June 21, Friday, June 27, Saturday, June 28, Friday, July 4
8 p.m., Hollins Theatre

A showcase of thesis works by the 2014 M.F.A. candidates. The thesis is a central focus of the program, a culmination of each student's choreographic exploration and development of his or her creative process.

Draftworks

Sunday, June 22, 7 and 9 p.m. Botetourt Hall, Studio II
A performance of works in progress by 2014 year-resident M.F.A. students.

Dance Performance 6/Mobile Tour

Saturday, July 5
Locations and times to be announced on www.hollinsdance.com. 2014 M.F.A. candidates showcase nontraditional and site-specific thesis works in alternative performance spaces on Hollins campus. The Mobile Tour gives students the opportunity to experiment and create work outside the traditional proscenium stage.