spacer HU search About Hollins dot Academics dot Admissions & Financial Aid dot Athletics dot Student Life dot News Request Info dot Visit dot Apply
Hollins University
Coed Graduate Programs

(General Information)
Hollins University
Graduate Center
P.O. Box 9603
Roanoke, VA 24020-1603
(540) 362-6575
Fax (540) 362-6288

Program Director
Jeanne Larsen

M.F.A. in Creative Writing
Reading Series

Visiting guest speakers have included such writers as:

  • Lee Smith '67, novelist and Shannon Ravenel '60, Smith's editor at Algonquin Books. Their visit was in celebration of Smith’s latest novel, The Last Girls.
  • Matthew Klam M.A. ’92, author of Sam the Cat and Other Stories. Named by The New Yorker as one of the twenty best young fiction writers in America, his work, both fiction and nonfiction, has appeared widely in all the best places, and one of his stories won an O. Henry Award.
  • Natasha Trethewey M.A.'91, author of Domestic Work, winner of the prestigious Cave Canem Poetry Prize for a first collection of poems by an African-American poet. She was also awarded the Pulitzer Prize for her most recent collection of poetry, Native Guard. In January 2012 she was named poet laureate of Mississippi. In June 2012 she was named U. S. Poet Laureate by the Library of Congress.
  • James Tate, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award for poetry, author of the recent titles Dreams of a Robot Dancing Bee: 44 Stories and Ghost Soldiers.
  • Charles Wright, author of Scar Tissue, which won the Griffin Poetry Prize. Other books include Buffalo Yoga, Negative Blue, Appalachia, and Black Zodiac, which won the Pulitzer Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
  • Claudia Emerson, author of Figure Studies and Late Wife, which won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.
  • Edward P. Jones, winner of the Pen/ Faulkner Award for Lost in the City and the Pulitzer Prize for The Known World.
  • Jamaica Kincaid, innovative fiction writer and memoirist, author of At the Bottom of the River, Annie John, A Small Place, Autobiography of My Mother, and My Brother.
  • Nick Flynn, memoirist and poet, is best known as the author of Another Bull**** Night in Suck City, in which he recounts his turbulent childhood and family life and the uncanny trajectory that led him and his homeless, estranged father to one another. His memoir, The Ticking is the Bomb: A Memoir of Bewilderment, was published in 2010. Flynn is also the author of three books of poetry, Some Ether (2000), which won the PEN/Joyce Osterwell Award; Blind Huber (2002); and The Captain Asks for a Show of Hands: Poems (2011).
  • George Saunders is the author of The Braindead Megaphone, a collection of essays published in 2007. Saunders' other books include the short story collections CivilWarLand in Bad Decline, a finalist for the 1996 PEN/Hemingway Award; In Persuasion Nation, a finalist for the Story Prize in 2007; and Pastoralia; the children’s book The Very Persistent Gappers of Frip; and the novella The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil. His works have been published in The New Yorker, Harper’s, McSweeney’s, and GQ. "Saunders’ bitingly clever and compassionate essays are a Mark Twain-style shot in the arm for Americans, an antidote to the dumbing down virus plaguing our country," said Vanity Fair.

Through the generosity of John and Susan Jackson, we have established the annual Jackson Poetry Reading. In April 2013, C. D. Wright, distinguished poet and winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, will give the Jackson Poetry Reading. Past readers have included Paul Muldoon, Charles Wright, Natasha Trethewey, Claudia Emerson, Carl Dennis, Mark Doty, and Alice Fulton.

For more information on readings and English department events, click here. Select "Readings" in the category selection drop-down menu.